Things just got a lot more real

Earlier today I had a meeting with the Lama of the Tibetan Buddhist centre that I attend, to discuss taking refuge.

Basically, this is the means by which one formally commits to follow the path of Buddhism. It is something that I have been seriously considering for quite some time now, as I didn’t just want to jump in with both feet without looking where I would be landing.

Having done plenty of reading and thinking about it, I am now sure that this is a step I want to take. I’m ready to make a public commitment; to be known publicly as a Buddhist.

Lama and I arranged a date later this month for my refuge ceremony. I’m really looking forward to it and I’m sure it’s the right step for me to take, but I’m also feeling a little nervous because suddenly things feel a lot more real. From now until the time comes to take refuge, I’m sure I’ll be spending a lot of time in contemplation of the commitment I am preparing to make.

Leave a Reply

