Buddhist urination!

Among the many sides of me that people occasionally see, I am a singer-songwriter and an occasional writer of poetry. I make no claim to be the world’s greatest at either of those, but people generally like my music and song lyrics when I perform, and I have had some of my poetry published in the annual Red Poets magazine.

Occasionally I do gigs with the Red Poets collective. Yes, I said “gigs”. The Red Poets often come together to do live, spoken-word poetry events, and I’m frequently asked to play some of my songs and read some of my poems at those events. Anyway, we had a gig last night, and one event stuck in my mind as something that might be worth sharing on here as a bit of light relief.

One of my fellow Red Poets, named Al, is a Zen Buddhist. He knows about my recent conversion to Buddhism, and when we meet we usually end up talking about Buddhism in some form or another. He also has a sense of humour.

Anyway, as one does, I had to pay a visit to the toilet during the night. While I was in there, Al came in. As he did what he needed to do, he called over to me: “Barry, are you having a Buddhist piss?”

I laughed, and asked him what he meant. He then proceeded to tell me that in the Tibetan Book of the Dead, there is a passage that deals with how a man urinates. Apparently, if a man’s urine splits into two streams as it comes out, his death will be imminent. If that’s true, I and every other man must have died many times in this life already!

Now, although I do have a copy of the Tibetan Book of the Dead, I haven’t read it yet so I can’t vouch for the veracity of this story. Somehow, I doubt its authenticity! It did make me laugh though, which I suspect was the whole point of the story. Thanks, Al!

EDIT: Apparently Al wasn’t pulling my leg after all! It’s really in there!

Leave a Reply

