Missing meditation

On work days I usually take time during my lunch break to do a short (fifteen minute) meditation session. I find this very useful because it helps me to centre myself and remain calm and focused in what can be a very stressful job.

Occasionally, though, I don’t get enough time to meditate during my lunch break. Today was one of those times. Even though I had a great meditation session last night with a group of like-minded people at the Triratna centre,  and even though I plan to meditate this evening as I usually do, missing my regular lunchtime session really left me feeling out of sorts throughout the afternoon.

Meditation can be a pleasant experience if done once or only very occasionally, but it won’t be any more than that. It can be more helpful if done more often,  but to really get the best out of it you need to do it regularly. It has become part of my normal daily routine now, and it’s no exaggeration to say that its effects have been life-changing for me; but the flip side of that is that I really notice a difference when I miss a session.

Leave a Reply

